Ryan Ang Captures Kl Amateur Open, Nateeshvar Finishes Tied Second

Credit: FB Malaysian Golf Association
08/05/2024 10:54 PM

PETALING JAYA, May 8 (Bernama) -- Singapore’s top amateur player Ryan Ang carded rounds of 69,68,68 for a three-day total of 11-under par 205 to win the Kuala Lumpur Amateur Open which ended at Kelab Golf Perkhidmatan Awam (KGPA) here today.

Malaysia’s rising young golfer G. Nateeshvar who is eyeing a spot in the National SEA Games squad finished with a three-day total of 217 after rounds of 76, 72 and 69 to be tied for second place with Ryan Wong of Singapore (75,71,71).

Nateeshvar who was part of the team that won the gold medal at the Vietnam SEA Games said he would have to improve on his putting which was not very effective throughout the three days.

“I will be leaving to Florida to continue my degree. I know I'm in the long list for now,  I think I'm one of them. I'll be more than happy to come back and represent the country if given the opportunity. 

“However, I need to improve weaknesses, especially while putting, I’ll be working on it,” he told Bernama after the prize presentation, here today.

Meanwhile, the women’s category was also won by a Singaporean, Aloysa Atienza who carded a three-day total of three-over par 219 after finishing with rounds of 73,73,73 while M. Sohniya Chandra from Malaysia carded an overall score of 226 to finish in second place. 

Another Malaysian, Nur Diana Syafiqah Abdullah finished with a score of 232 for third place.

The Kuala Lumpur Amateur Open is part of an international competition organised by the Malaysian Golf Association (MGA) at every state, including Sabah and Sarawak. 

MGA vice president Teoh Piekkee said the tournament serves as a platform for young golfers to showcase their talent and collect merit points that can help them qualify for international competitions.

“The competition also identifies the top golfers in the country who will be selected for major competitions, including the SEA Games,” he said.

The KL Amateur Open is the first tournament for this year and the competition will move to Perlis, Kedah, Sabah, Sarawak and Perak.